Keep it cool: No-cook summer sides

 

Summer lovin’ had me a blast…and no patience to cook in a hot kitchen.

Picnics, trips to the beach, and a kitchen in a fifth-floor walk-up that’s hot in January (so you can only imagine how it feels in July) call for quick and easy meals with as little time as possible to use the stove or oven.

Two of my favorite no-cook sides that I recently whipped up on my beach vacation involve fruit and flavor and none of the heat.

Watermelon salad with feta, mint and balsamic glaze

unnamed-1

 

It doesn’t get much easier than this.  I diced up watermelon, julienned some mint, added some crumbled feta on top, and then took this pic before adding a drizzle of balsamic glaze and some salt and pepper to taste. Feel free to make your own balsamic reduction. To reduce time in the kitchen, I totally support  and encourage that you grab a pre-made glaze, like my favorite from Trader Joe’s. 

 

Mango avocado salad {served with fish tacos}

unnamed-2

Fish tacos are one of my summer favorites. Even though the fish didn’t take long in the oven to cook, I wanted to keep the rest of the meal as quick and cool as possible. The side includes two mangos and avocados diced up with some red onion and cilantro mixed in. I added a squeeze of lime juice and some salt and pepper to taste. It’s just that easy!

 

I hope these side dishes save you time in the kitchen so you can spend more time on the beach. Do you have any go-to recipes that you make during the summer? Share them in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

